Award in Higher Sports Leadership

What is HSLA?

The Level 3 Award in Higher Sports Leadership equips students with the necessary skills and knowledge to successfully lead unsupervised groups of people in sport and recreational activities. The qualification is nationally recognised and is an option of progression if you have completed the CSLA award in Year 12.


The qualification is divided into eight units of work, of which seven must be completed;

  • Developing leadership skills (3 GLH)
  • Provision of sport within the community (34 GLH)
  • Lead sessions designed to improve fitness (10 GLH)
  • Organise and lead a sports event or competition (10 GLH)
  • Legal and ethical responsibilities when working with others (6 GLH)
  • Lead sport/activity sessions for children (22 GLH)*
  • Lead sport/activity sessions for older people (22 GLH)*
  • Lead sport/activity sessions for disabled people (22 GLH)*

*These are specialist units. A minimum of two units of Units 6, 7 and 8 must be completed. Within each unit there are learning outcomes. These stipulate what you need to be able to do, know and understand in order to pass each unit. You will further develop a variety of skills on the course. These include teamwork, communication, planning and organisation.


You must achieve all learning outcomes in each unit. Unit 8 is assessed by carrying out a minimum of ten hours leadership in a voluntary/community setting. You will complete a log book and record written evidence. This is a practical course with no exams involved. All successful HSLA students will be awarded 30 UCAS tariff points. You must also pass a NGB Level 1 Award. This course requires additional commitment to your volunteer hours.

Additional information

This qualification looks great on your CV or university application. It can be used as a good discussion point at interview. Opportunities include coaching young people and working within Sports Development.