Health & Social Care

Health and Social Care curriculum at Brownhills Ormiston Academy

The department’s vision
• Health and Social care at Brownhills Ormiston Academy enables pupils to develop knowledge and skills that will help them to prepare for Health and Social Care professions and provide them with pathways that enable them to do so.
• We encourage students by supporting them to make moral, safe and ethical choices in an ever changing and diverse society.
• We will work together with our students to promote respect and equality at all times, promoting the use of the Care Values that underpin effective Health and Social Care : Dignity, respect, safeguarding, anti-discriminatory practice, empowering and promoting independence, confidentiality and communication.
• We aim to develop the skills they require such as research, interpreting data and lifestyle indicators (to assess an individual’s health) and planning (designing a health improvement plan) through the use of a variety of methods – case studies, videos and documentaries.
• Throughout each year group, students will have the opportunity to share their personal viewpoints as well as developing their oracy, writing and reading skills, through discussion, presentations and coursework assignments.

Sequencing of lessons

Year 9: Year 9 is used to bridge the gap in knowledge and develop skills specific to use in Year 10 and 11, such as research, role play and
presentations. Students start their course focussing on ‘Step into the NHS’ – a national initiative that is designed to engage new learners and promote the career progressions and opportunities that our NHS can give. During their first year, students will also study various topics from the different examined components of the course. This is to help them to develop the skills needed for them to be successful and learners in the future. The units include Care Values, types of services, barriers to accessing services and health promotion campaigns.
Key Stage 4:The course is divided in to the following three components (Component 1 – Human Lifespan Development; Component 2 –
Health and Social Care Services and Values; Component 3 – Health and Wellbeing)
Year 10 : When students enter KS4 they commence their BTEC Tech Award course of study. Two components are studied : Component 1 and Component 3 (preparation for the external exam) This year focuses on how humans grow and develop through different life stages (through infancy, early childhood, adolescence and adulthood). Students look in detail at how humans develop physically, intellectually,
emotionally and socially. Students will also examine the factors that influence development as we age. They will investigate how, using case studies, human development is affected by different factors – such as lifestyle choices and relationships can affect a person? and that people deal differently with life events (such as marriage, parenthood or moving house). During the summer term students will study the factors that affect health and wellbeing, learning about physiological and lifestyle indicators, and how to design a health and wellbeing improvement plan. They will learn how to interpret physiological and lifestyle indicators, and what they mean for someone’s state of
health. They will learn how to use this information to design an appropriate plan for improving someone’s health and wellbeing, including setting short- and long-term targets. Additionally, they will explore the barriers and obstacles an individual may face when trying to make these changes.
Year 11
This year focuses on completing component 1 in readiness for the external exam, during the Autumn term. Following this, students move on to their final component of study: Care Values. Students study health and social care services and how they meet the needs of real service users. They examine the barriers that individual’s may face when trying to access help and care and ways to overcome these barriers. Case studies are provided for students to examine the different situations that people face themselves in. Following this, they also develop knowledge and practical skills in applying care values, through role play (preserving dignity, safeguarding (maintaining a healthy and safe environment), effective communication, respect (respecting service users’ needs, beliefs and identity), anti-discriminatory practice (promoting anti-discriminatory practice by being aware of types of unfair discrimination and avoiding discriminatory behaviour), empowering and promoting independence (involving individuals, where possible, in making choices) and maintaining confidentiality).


Students receive regular formal and informal assessments to improve their recall skills and to recap previous knowledge. Peer and self assessment are used to encourage reflection and awareness of how to move forward with their learning so they can understand how they can achieve their full potential, along with regular recall activities (such as Do Now activities), key word glossary tests and spelling tests.
End of unit assessments are also used to check progress.
Key stage 3: Pupils will complete half termly assessments that will include key vocabulary tests, recall quizzes and end of Unit assessments. The end of unit assessments will be an assessment that will cover whole or part of the Assessment Objectives which will enable them to develop key examination skills for Key stage 4.
Key stage 4: In year 10, Students complete two internally assessed coursework assignments (Component 1 Human Lifespan Development – 30% weighting),along with a formal mock exam in the summer term. They also complete two in Year 11 (Component 2: Care Values- 30% weighting). Pupils take an external exam in the Spring term of their final year (Component 3:60% weighting).

Knowledge Organisers



5 Year Road Map

Year 9

Curriculum Plan

Year 10

Curriculum Plan

Year 11

Curriculum Plan