Religious Studies

Religious Education – Brownhills Curriculum

Curriculum Purpose

It is our intent for the Religious Education element of our school curriculum to engage, inspire, challenge and encourage pupils, equipping them with the knowledge and skills to answer challenging questions. Religious Education contributes significantly to the Christian character of the school and enables pupils to ask deep and often searching questions about their own faiths and beliefs, and the beliefs, faiths and opinions of others regarding pertinent contemporary moral issues. Pupils will be able to deepen their understanding of God as encountered and taught by Christians. The teaching of RE makes links between the beliefs, practices and value systems of a range of faiths and world-views studied. The RE curriculum will help to develop responsibility and respect for all aspects of diversity, whether it be social, cultural and religious, and prepare pupils well for life in modern Britain.

The overarching concepts for ‘Religious Studies’ at Brownhills Ormiston Academy are:

  • Personal growth – developing compassion and empathy
  • Stewardship – caring for all creation
  • Respect – showing tolerance of others beliefs, opinions and cultures
  • Asking Big Questions – communicating effectively and listening to others
  • Morality – understanding right from wrong, accepting rules and boundaries
  • Courageous Advocacy – challenging injustice by standing up for the rights of others and values and to develop positive attitudes of respect towards other people
  • Enrichment – enhancing their spiritual, moral, social and cultural development

Curriculum Implementation

Learning is embedded through the development of knowledge and skills over time. In KS3, the curriculum breadth supports learners’ knowledge and understanding of religions and non-religious beliefs, such as atheism and humanism. Half-termly assessments are given at the end of each topic. Regular exam questions are given from year 7-9.

Throughout each key stage, the learning deepens their understanding of Christianity and other religions. Progression is mapped coherently. This progression allows for effective differentiation, marking and feedback, and stretch for all. Pupils have access to key terminology and sources of wisdom. Regular extended writing allows pupils to develop their language and vocabulary. In Key Stage 4 the learning is built on from KS3 to deepen their understanding of the relationship between people and about common and divergent views within traditions in the way beliefs and teachings are understood and expressed. Students follow the Think RE course of student in KS3 and AQA Religious Studies Course for GCSE. Students are given opportunities to explore the fact that religious traditions of Great Britain are, in the main are Christian but that they are also diverse and include other faiths, such as Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism and Sikhism, as well as non-religious beliefs,. Students are also exposed to Philosophical and Ethical Studies in the Modern World, looking at current real world issues. There is scope to develop their ability to construct well argued, well-informed, balanced and structured written arguments, demonstrating their depth and breadth of understanding of the subject.

Knowledge Organisers

Knowledge Organisers

Other curriculum documents

GCSE Specification